3 Important Tips To Help You When Navigating Mattress Review Websites

TIP #1 DOES THE REVIEW WEBSITE CONTAIN ONLY BED IN A BOX OPTIONS? 

The mattress industry is hundreds of years old. We have always found it odd that most mattress review sites list rarely contain any of the actual top ten mattress manufacturers. Are we to believe that only newly hatched start up brands are the only companies that can build a top ten rated mattress? In our research, we were only able to find one legitimate mattress review website. This website offers direct consumer input alongside their professional opinion. They review both bed in a box brands as well as most of the current top ten mattress manufactures. You will also notice they DO NOT provide a Top Ten List. We find this approach to offer the most honest input with no brand bias.

 

 

TIP #2 AFFILIATE TOP TEN RANKINGS

The mattress industry is very competitive and brands are paying HEFTY commissions (up to 20% of the total cost of the mattress) to third-party reviewers and affiliate websites in order to be relevant. You will notice a lot of the same brands on various websites with top ten ratings. By viewing these websites and YouTube videos, one can almost get a sense of a mattress company’s advertising budget. It’s important to note these listings come with a financial bias based on their potential cut of the sale as stated above. The real question is, what is the mattress company sacrificing in the actual product to afford such generous advertising budgets? Affiliate link disclosures are mandated by the FTC.  It is highly recommended that you make note of any review websites offering any arranged ranking lists such as top ten mattresses, top twenty mattresses for side sleepers, etc...  It’s reasonable to assume that the brands closer to the top of any list directly correlates to that brand’s generosity in terms of kickbacks. The world is changing and you should consider these websites to be nothing more than a new kind of mattress retailer. In this new world search engines and review websites have simply replaced the cost of maintaining a physical storefront. Mattress review websites are a “place” of business, just one without a physical storefront.

 

TIP #3 IS THE REVIEW WEBSITE OWNED BY OR AFFILIATED WITH AN ACTUAL MATTRESS BRAND?

Most may not know unless one has scoured reddit countless hours that some, if not most, of these review websites and affiliate websites are owned and operated by the actual mattress brands themselves. It’s true as seen on that famous episode of Adam Ruins Everything.

The list may shock you…  Buyer Beware. See for yourself below.

Magnuson, Michael. “Review Sites With Ties to Mattress Companies.” Good Bed, Goodbed.com, 2021, www.goodbed.com/guides/biased-mattress-review-websites/.

Sleepopolis  sleepopolis
[dot] com
Casper financed the acquisition of this site by lending $5 million to the owners of Mattress Clarity in 2017. After an ownership change in 2020, this site is now part of the same company as Mattress Advisor, which has ties to Leesa (see below).
Mattress Clarity mattressclarity
[dot] com
The owners of this site borrowed $5 million from Casper to acquire Sleepopolis in 2017. After an ownership change in 2020, this site is now part of the same company as Mattress Advisor, which has ties to Leesa (see below).
Mattress Advisor mattressadvisor
[dot] com
The lead investor in Mattress Advisor and its portfolio of mattress review sites (One Better Ventures) is also the primary investor in Leesa. When the Mattress Advisor website was first launched, it contained a disclosure that has since been removed regarding Leesa's connection to the site.
Best Mattress Brand bestmattress-brand
[dot] org
Site authors are employees or consultants of One Mall Group, parent company of Amerisleep.
Mattress Nerd mattressnerd
[dot] com
After an ownership change in 2018, this site is now part of the same company as Mattress Advisor, which has ties to Leesa (see above).
Honest Mattress Reviews honestmattressreviews
[dot] com
This site is currently owned by a company that is backed by Brooklyn Bedding. Previously, a court ruled that this site failed to disclose a “significant business relationship” with GhostBed.
Sleep Junkie sleepjunkie
[dot] org
Owned and operated by Amerisleep. In mid-2020, the NAD determined that it is insufficiently clear and conspicuous for consumers visiting Sleep Junkie to know that this site is an "advertising website owned and operated by Amerisleep, a mattress company whose products are being touted on the sites." In response to this ruling, Amerisleep stated that it “agrees to comply with NAD’s modification recommendation and ensure consumers understand that the sites include advertising content."
Sleep Authority sleepauthority
[dot] com
This site is owned and operated by DreamCloud, LLC, which operates Nectar, DreamCloud, Level, and Awara.
Memory Foam
Mattress
memoryfoammattress
[dot] org
Published by Relief Mart, producer of the Tempflow mattress brand.
Savvy Sleeper savvysleeper
[dot] org
Owned and operated by Amerisleep. In mid-2020, the NAD determined that it is insufficiently clear and conspicuous for consumers visiting Savvy Sleeper to know that this site is an "advertising website owned and operated by Amerisleep, a mattress company whose products are being touted on the sites." In response to this ruling, Amerisleep stated that it “agrees to comply with NAD’s modification recommendation and ensure consumers understand that the sites include advertising content."
Mattress Inquirer mattress-inquirer
[dot] com
Site authors are employees or consultants of One Mall Group, parent company of Amerisleep.
The Best Mattress thebest-mattress
[dot] org
Site authors are employees or consultants of One Mall Group, parent company of Amerisleep. As of mid-2020, this site redirects to savvysleeper [dot] org, another Amerisleep property (see above).
Slumber Sage slumbersage
[dot] com
The owners of this site borrowed money from Casper to acquire Sleepopolis.
Mattress-Reviews mattress-reviews
[dot] com
This site is published by Novosbed, which is prominently disclosed on both the header and the home page.
Top Mattress Choices topmattresschoices
[dot] com
This site is operated by Helix.
Mattress Journal mattressjournal
[dot] com
Site authors are employees or consultants of One Mall Group, parent company of Amerisleep.
Memory Foam
Mattress Guide
memoryfoammattress-guide
[dot] org
Site authors are employees or consultants of One Mall Group, parent company of Amerisleep.
What’s the Best Bed whatsthebestbed
[dot] org
Site authors are employees or consultants of One Mall Group, parent company of Amerisleep.
Consumer Mattress Reviews consumer-mattress-reviews
[dot] com
Site authors are employees or consultants of One Mall Group, parent company of Amerisleep.
Best Mattress Online bestmattressonline
[dot] com
Site authors are employees or consultants of One Mall Group, parent company of Amerisleep.
Best Mattress Reviews bestmattress-reviews
[dot] org
Site authors are employees or consultants of One Mall Group, parent company of Amerisleep.
Best Mattresses bestmattresses
[dot] org
This site is operated by Eight Sleep.

 

We believe mattresses can be purchased on-line as well as off-line. We encourage consumers with a more discerning comfort or firmness preference to try before they buy.  Our over 40 years experience in this business has assisted a great deal in developing this purchasing guide. Our priority is to eliminate our customers hassle, frustration, buyer remorse and waste. In the end we believe this will be better for both our customers and our environment.   

Our Design Specifications | Harvest Green Mattresses